• positive review  I am so thrilled to have this selection over with. The relief is beyond description. Joann listens and talks straight. And with me if I hear or feel something is off I will politely exit the conversation. My questions and feedback were truthfully answered and at no time did I get the feeling that I was being lead, pushed or a sales pitch was happening. It was great service. Thank you and thanks for listening.

    thumb Pilan Sue Butts
    4/05/2019
  • 5 star review  I found Joann on YouTube while researching supplemental insurance. Her videos are so easy to understand Medigap. I have been in contact via email and phone. I highly recommend watching her videos. Thank you Joann for making it easy to navigate this new chapter in my life.

    thumb Tina Hiebert
    9/19/2018
  • 5 star review  Best decision I made going through Remdigap. I must have watched 40-50 videos from several different carriers and they mostly seemed shady. One I spoke to Joanne and walked through options, receieved some quotes she took care of the rest with absolutely no pressure. Oh yeah, her videos are clear and concise.

    thumb Joe Moynihan
    6/15/2018
  • 5 star review  My husband and I have been researching Medigap and Part D plans for months. Once we thought we knew what we were doing, we would find out we didn’t! Lol! If we would have started here, with Joann and REMEDIGAP, it would have been painless! So thankful we found her! Watch the videos, ask ANY question, and rest assured you’ll get a competitive rate and ZERO pressure. We got a super fast response which was helpful with my work schedule. Joann is genuine, easy to talk to, has a great sense of humor! What a Godsend. Feels like good old-fashioned customer service to me. Grateful.

    thumb Angele Navares
    4/30/2018
  • 5 star review  I came across Remedigap by chance and after reading some of the reviews I knew I had to check them out. I am so glad I did!!! So glad I had to tell anyone who will listen…hence this review. I cannot thank Joann enough for answering my questions at the 11th hour! She has, hands down, provided me with the most consise straightforward answers to my questions. Without so much as a hint of pressure in one direction or a other, so refreshing…so very important in this day and age when healthcare coverage can be dauntingly confusing! I appreciate it so much!

    thumb Elizabeth Tatge
    12/07/2017
  • 5 star review  Phoned them “cold” – based on a local area on aging recommendation and several comments penned by Ms. Quinn on websites. Unlike ALL other agencts, only Joann refrained from asking for my commitment to by a plan through them. At the same time, Joann put some searches into play and has promised to phone me once more with additonal input. It was I who offered to write this testimonial. Withouit purchasing a policy, it is the only way I know to express my gratitude for her professional conduct and genuine concern. Thank you, Joann! PS: You can take the teacher out of the school, but you can’t take the schoolteacher away. Your videos are very clearly laid-out: like a carefully constructed lesson

    thumb Karen P. Katz
    11/07/2017
  • 5 star review  Highly recommend REMEDIGAP videos if you want to understand the Medicare/medigap maze. Joann was thorough in her responses to my questions and requests for rates. Undoubtedly, I will be contacting this company when it is time for me to purchase a medigap policy.

    thumb Rick Graves
    9/27/2017
  • 5 star review  Very professional and courteous service. I will have a long term relationship with this business!

    thumb Jack Broome
    5/12/2017
  • 5 star review  This was the best thing I could have done for my self every thing was explained to me so I could make the best choice for me.And when I need help later they will be there for me .

    thumb Diane Langille-stone
    9/18/2016
  • 5 star review  I left my Medicare Advantage HMO for a Medigap Plan N — I’m so happy I made the change. Joann was there to help me every step of the way and make the process so easy. What could have been an overwhelming situation ended up being completely stress free, thanks to Joann.

    thumb Lorraine Roche
    8/07/2016

  • Free quotes sent to your email
  • Compare costs of plans
  • Estimate your savings
  • Get help with your enrollment

Reviewing Medigap Plan N Premiums and Benefits

Reviewing Medigap Plan N Premiums and Benefits

When it’s time to purchase Medicare Supplement insurance, reviewing Medigap Plan N premiums and benefits should be part of your research. Along with Plan F and Plan G, Medigap Plan N is one of the most popular Medicare Supplement insurance plans. While the popular Medigap plans have similar benefits, the out of pocket costs associated with Plan N make it unique. Medigap Plan N Costs include:

  • Part B deductible
  • Plan N Co-pays
  • Excess Charges
  • Insurance Premium

 

Medigap Plan N and the Part B deductible  

With Medigap Plan N, you are responsible for satisfying the annual Part B deductible. For example, you pay the Part B deductible before Plan N pays the remainder of Part B expenses. This doesn’t always happen in one doctor visit. It could take several appointments before the deductible is met. If you don’t visit the doctor very often, then you keep more of the Part B deductible in your own pocket.

Medigap Insurance Company Discounts 

Medicare Supplement Plan N is already priced low. However, a few insurance companies offer Household discounts. This discount can sometimes lower the price by six to twelve percent.

Each insurance carrier has their own set of requirements for this discount. Some insurance companies will give a Household discount if only one applicant buys a policy, while others require both parties apply for coverage.

Who sells the cheapest Medigap Plan N?  

Premiums for Medicare Supplement Plan N vary. Rates are based on your zip code, your age, and the insurance company. Cheapest isn’t always the best as some insurance companies have a history of high rate increases.

If you live in Florida or New York where Medicare Supplement premiums are high, Medigap Plan N is often a good choice for the budget minded Senior.

Reviewing Medigap Plan N

Reviewing Plan N Premiums and Benefits, continued…

Copays  After your Part B deductible is met, your Plan N policy will cover Part B services after Medicare pays its portion. However, you are still subject to provider copays. Some doctors ask for the full $20 copay while others charge a small amount or nothing at all. An emergency room copay is $50 per visit. If admitted into the hospital, the copay is waived.

Excess Charges  A doctor can accept Medicare patients, but may not accept Medicare assignment. This is the Medicare approved amount paid for a particular service. If a doctor doesn’t accept Medicare Assignment, he or she is allowed to charge up to 15% more than what Medicare pays.

To avoid Part B Excess Charges it’s best to check with your provider before each visit to make sure they accept Medicare Assignment. You can also visit Medicare.gov to find your provider. Medicare’s database will indicate if the provider accepts Medicare Assignment.

Insurance Premium  Medigap Plan N is purchased through private insurance carriers. CMS standardizes the benefits of Plan N. This means Plan N with ABC insurance company is the same Plan N with XYZ insurance company. The only difference is price. Plan N is one of the lowest priced Medicare Supplements. It is often 30% less than Medigap Plan F.

COMPARE F AND N QUOTES

Reviewing Medigap Plan N premiums and benefits is a little more complicated than reviewing Plan F.  If you feel that Plan N has the right price but not all the benefits you want, consider Medigap Plan G.  It works just like Plan F after meeting the annual Part B deductible.

 Click here for a comparison of Plan F and Plan G.

Additional Resources:

Who Sells the Best Medigap Insurance Plans | Large or Small Companies?

Is Buying Medigap Plan F a Good Idea?

Medicare Open Enrollment – What you Need to Know.

Call (888) 411-1329 for your free consultation today!

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on google
Google+
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn

2 thoughts on “Reviewing Medigap Plan N Premiums and Benefits”

  1. What are the household discounts. I’m thinking about plan N with aarp.i am a member.also what are there rate increases I’m in long island ny

    1. Hi Lois, a Household Discount is a discount provided by the insurance carrier for two policyholders residing in the same household. Most of the time, it must be your spouse. Unfortunately, in the state of New York, AARP does not offer a Household Discount on it’s Medicare Supplement policies (including Plan N).

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Medicare eCourse

Finally, There’s a Simple Way to Understand Medicare

7 Simple lessons delivered to your email once a day